Digital End-to-End Workflow for NDR Foreign Studios

> PDF DOWNLOAD

 

The background

Norddeutscher Rundfunk (NDR), headquartered in Hamburg, is part of ARD, a joint organisation of public service broadcasters in Germany. NDR produces for and broadcasts on TV, radio and online platforms. Within the ARD group, NDR is a leading producer of TV news programming including Tagesschau and Tagesthemen, both highly-respected news shows. In addition, NDR specialises in in-depth news reports, documentary films, political magazines and sports coverage. Finally, NDR produces a number of talk shows and cultural programmes.

 

The requirement

To support production of up-to-the-minute news reports across the globe, NDR has a network of overseas studios in Beijing, Tokyo, Singapore, Stockholm and London.

ENG teams, correspondents, cutters, technicians and the corresponding editing workstations are stationed at each site. In late 2015, NDR decided to upgrade these studios and bring them up to a consistent technical standard. The catalyst for this decision was a switch to Adobe Premiere Pro – an editing system that was already being used extensively at NDR’s broadcasting centre.

In addition to creating an automated, digital end-to-end workflow, a key objective was to establish a digital archive in each studio. A top priority was to create stable, reliable media backups, while it was also important to ensure that broadcast items could be easily retrieved in a format suitable for further editing.

 

The system components

NDR checked various products and systems based on the most important features that NDR required. Ultimately, the broadcaster opted for the EditShare Ingest and Storage system and Flow as production media asset management system, Sony ODA hardware based on optical disc with long-term guarantee (100 years) for the archive solution, and Adobe Premiere Pro as mentioned above.

Having chosen products and systems from diverse vendors, the next challenge was to integrate these into a workflow that effectively supported the processes in place at the overseas studios. The solution needed to safeguard NDR’s high quality standards while complying with budget requirements. MoovIT is a systems partner of EditShare, Adobe and Sony and provides the necessary qualifications. Furthermore MoovIT’s team of software experts has developed HelmutFX, a modular tool that aims to provide the ‘missing link’ between these components while also performing other tasks.

HelmutFX was developed as a ‘virtual coordinator for search and administrative tasks’. It is modular by design, and was conceived to allow a single piece of software to handle all post-production management tasks. It is scalable, and can be adapted to any production environment. As a result, small and mid-sized production units can work in a way that was previously only possible with a large-scale, complex and expensive workflow.

 

The solution

The first step of NDR’s end-to-end workflow encompasses automated ingest of all data formats in use, with simultaneous synchronisation for further processing in Premiere Pro and EditShare Flow.

This is made possible thanks to a Premiere panel controlled by HelmutFX which uses presets to manage metadata, target locations on the central storage system and target codecs. HelmutFX users receive presets that correspond to their specific user profiles and the categories that have been assigned to them.

In the background, HelmutFX manages projects, categories, user pro-files and preferences (Premiere user settings) for the entire process.

HelmutFX creates all Premiere and Flow projects, and synchronises these automatically. As part of this process, the API is triggered by Flow; consequently, the user does not need to perform any administrative maintenance tasks on the MAM system.

After cutting, files are automatically formatted, transcoded and exported via the panel described above. If required, files can be exported to NDR’s in-house formats – and at the same time, files are automatically assigned to the corresponding projects in Flow.

To save resources and avoid bottlenecks at the editing workstations, media files are imported and exported using the central Adobe Media Encoder (AME), rather than locally. Users can communicate with AME using watch folders, and can perform administrative tasks via a web-based in-terface.

By way of the metadata field, the MAM client can launch archive, backup and re-store processes. Files are selected in Flow, and the store/restore process is initialised using the web-based NDR-SaR interface developed by MoovIT.

Metadata and proxies continue to be stored within the MAM system during archiving. High-resolution files are transferred to the ODA drive for long-term storage. The original files are tested using checksums before being deleted. If required for use, media can be retrieved and activated at any time using unique IDs.

HelmutFX and ODA are administered using a single server. System availability is guaran-teed at all times, thanks to a redundant server that will automatically take over if an incident or outage occurs.

 

The benefits

NDR modernizes its overseas studios with fully automated end-to-end workflows with automated ingest and export in all formats, including in-house formats. The workflow includes metadata-based MAM file management and long-term digital archiving. The Adobe Premiere Pro and EditShare flow systems communicate and synchronise with each other automatically.

During ingest, cutters can already start their work, parallel translations can be started, and voiceovers can be edited. Moreover, expanding file sizes are no longer an issue.

HelmutFX automates file allocation and management processes, increasing effi-ciency and minimising the risk of errors.

Since all of NDR’s overseas studios now have a near-identical workflow, employees can move flexibly between sites without re-quiring re-training each time they relocate.

The innovative and intelligent solution frees up time for employees at the studios, allowing them to focus on their core task – the production of reports.

 

< Back to the overview

Sign up for our newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter

Digitaler End-to-End Workflow für die NDR Auslandsstudios

> PDF DOWNLOAD

 

Der Hintergrund

Der Norddeutsche Rundfunk in Hamburg, NDR, gehört zu den öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunkanstalten in Deutschland (ARD). Der NDR sendet und produziert Fernseh-, Rundfunk- und Online Medien und ist federführend in der ARD für die TV Nachrichtenprogramme inklusive der bundesweit ausgestrahlten Tagesschau und Tagesthemen. Darüberhinaus ist der NDR spezialisiert auf Reportagen, Dokumentationen und politische Magazine sowie die Sportberichterstattung. Abgerundet wird das Programm durch Talkshowformte und Kultursendungen.

 

Die Anforderung

Für die weltweit aktuelle Berichterstattung verfügt der NDR über ein Netz von Auslandsstudios in Peking, Tokio, Singapur, Stockholm und London.

Dort sind jeweils EB-Teams, Korrespondenten, Cutter, Techniker und entsprechende Schnittplätze im Einsatz. Ende 2015 wurde beschlossen, alle Auslandsstudios zu modernisieren und auf einen einheitlichen technischen Stand zu bringen. Auslöser war die Umstellung des Schnittsystems auf Adobe-Premiere Pro, das auch bereits in der Sendezentrale maßgeblich zum Einsatz kommt.

Neben der Automatisierung und Digitalisierung eines End-to-End Workflows stand besonders die Absicht im Vordergrund, ein digitales Archiv einzuführen. Es ging um die zuverlässige und langfristige Sicherung der Medien einerseits, andererseits sollten die Beiträge aber auch leicht wieder auffindbar und für die weitere Bearbeitung nutzbar sein.

 

Die Systemkomponenten

Nach umfassenden Recherchen und Ausschreibungen erfolgte die Entscheidung beim NDR für die Inges und Zentralspeicherlösung mit dem Media Asset Management System Flow von EditShare, für die Sony ODAArchivierungslösung basierend auf optical Disc mit 100 Jahren Medienbestandsgarantie und für das bereits erwähnte Premiere Pro Schnittsystem von Adobe.

Mit der Präferenz für die Systeme verschiedener Hersteller entstand die Herausforderung, einen Workflow zu entwickeln, der die geforderten Arbeitsprozesse in den Auslandsstudios bestmöglich unterstützt.

Dabei waren die hohen Qualitätsansprüche genauso zu erfüllen wie die Budgetvorgaben.

MoovIT ist Systempartner von EditShare, Adobe und Sony und verfügt über die entsprechenden Qualifikationen. Darüber hinaus haben die Softwareexperten von MoovIT mit HelmutFX ein modular aufgebautes Tool im Angebot, das den „missing-link“ zwischen den Komponenten darstellt und weitere Aufgaben übernimmt.

HelmutFX ist als „virtueller Koordinator für Such- und Verwaltungsaufgaben“ entwickelt worden. Das Programm ermöglicht die komplette Postproduktionsverwaltung über eine einzige Software. Es ist skalierbar und kann dem jeweiligen Produktionsumfeld angepasst werden. Dadurch werden in kleinen und mittleren Produktionseinheiten Arbeitsprozesse möglich, die bisher nur durch aufwendige und teure Workflows realisierbar waren.

 

Die Lösung

Der NDR-End-to-End-Workflow beinhaltet im ersten Schritt den automatisierten Ingest sämtlicher genutzter Datenformate bei gleichzeitiger Synchronisation für die weitere Bearbeitung in Premiere Pro und EditShare Flow.

Möglich wird dies durch ein über HelmutFX gehostetes Premiere Panel, das Metadaten, Ziele auf dem zentralen Speicher sowie Zielcodecs über Presets verwaltet. Diese Presets stehen in direkter Abhängigkeit zum angemeldeten HelmutFX Benutzer und den ihm zugewiesenen Kategorien.

Die Projekte, Kategorien, Benutzerprofile und Preferences (Premiere User Settings) werden für den gesamten Prozess im Hintergrund von Helmut FX verwaltet.

HelmutFX erstellt alle Premiere und Flow Projekte und synchronisiert diese automatisch. Hierbei wird die API von Flow getriggered, sodass der Benutzer keinerlei administrative Pflege des MAM Systems betreiben muss.

Nach dem Schnitt werden die Files über das oben beschriebene Panel automatisch formatiert, transcodiert und exportiert – nach Bedarf auch in die NDR hauseigenen Formate. Parallel werden sie automatisch den Projekten in Flow zugeordnet.

Um die Ressourcen zu schonen und die Schnittplätze nicht zu blockieren, erfolgt der Medienim- und -export nicht lokal, sondern über den zentralen AME Adobe Media Encoder. Dieser kann auch über Watchfolder angesprochen und über ein Webinterface administriert werden.

Der MAM-Client kann über das Metadatenfeld die Funktionen Archivierung, Back-up oder Restore aktivieren. In Flow werden die Dateien markiert, über das von MoovIT entwickelte webbasierte NDR-SaR Interface wird der Store bzw. Restore-Vorgang angestoßen.

Bei der Archivierung verbleiben Metadaten und Proxy innerhalb des MAM Systems bestehen. Die Hires-Dateien werden für die langfristige Speicherung auf das ODALaufwerk verschoben. Die Originaldateien werden über Checksumme geprüft, bevor sie gelöscht werden. Die Medien können jederzeit über eindeutige IDs zur Nutzung wieder gefunden und aktiviert werden.

HelmutFX und ODA werden über einen Server gesteuert. Die durchgängige Arbeitsbereitschaft ist garantiert, weil im Fall der Havarie ein redundanter Server automatisch übernimmt.

 

Die Vorteile

Der NDR modernisiert die Auslandsstudios mit digitalen End-to-End Workflows inklusive automatisiertem Ingest und Export in alle – auch hauseigene – Formate, MAMDateisteuerung über Metadatenverwaltung und digitaler Langzeitarchivierung. Die Systeme Premiere Pro und Flow kommunizieren und synchronisieren voll automatisch.

Während des Ingest können die Cutter bereits arbeiten. Parallele Übersetzungen werden initiiert, O-Töne werden bearbeitet und wachsende Dateien sind keine Schwierigkeiten mehr.

Zuordnungs- und Verwaltungsprozesse sind durch HelmutFX voll automatisiert. Das Personal vor Ort wird entlastet und kann sich besser den eigentlichen Aufgaben zuwenden.

Dank des nahezu identischen Workflows in den Auslandsstudios sind die Mitarbeiter flexibel einsetzbar und müssen nicht immer wieder vor Ort neu geschult werden.

Die innovativen und intelligenten Arbeitsprozesse unterstützen die aktuelle Berichterstattung in einem einheitlichen und modernen Arbeitsumfeld. Sie führen zu Erleichterungen in der Tagesarbeit bei gleichzeitiger Fehlervermeidung.

 

< Zurück zur Übersicht

Hier für unseren Newsletter anmelden

Hier für unseren Newsletter anmelden